Chirag Desai

Major GST bills passed in Lok Sabha



The historic Goods and Services Tax (GST) regime today came a step closer to meet its July 1 target of rollout, with the Lok Sabha approving four supplementary legislations.
The Central GST Bill, 2017; The Integrated GST Bill, 2017; The GST (Compensation to States) Bill, 2017; and The Union Territory GST Bill, 2017 were passed after negation of a host of amendments moved by the Opposition parties.

Someday I’ll look back and remember how I watched the live stream of much of the debate and the vote, much like the passing of the 122nd Constitutional Amendment that made GST a reality.

Finance Minster Arun Jaitley’s speech in Lok Sabha addressing various questions raised and before he moved the bills is available here.